Kelliefish13's Blog

Travel writing, Poems and Stories

Living in the Land of Alice in Wonderland

1 Comment

I am living in the place where Alice in Wonderland was written with many part of the story based on the area. Where CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien formed their club the inklings, where Phillip Pullman wrote and based part of his Dark Materials (the Golden Compass trilogy for those who dont know). I can see why, this whole place inspires imagination, where paths and gates could lead to far off lands, or to magical beings homes.

A couple of blogs I have been reading http://dancingbeastie.wordpress.com/ and http://moonlightandhares.blogspot.com/ both have posts and very cool pictures of gates and pathways. So I thought I would put up a few of my own that I have discovered on my adventuresThe things about pictures of paths (and actual paths themselves) is that they always seem so inviting, but what happens if you follow them, where do you end up?

Especially when exploring a new place (like I am at the moment) a walkway like this one could take you anywhere

If you go through this one, do you become a hobbit? Does it become the shire? (I tried and disappointingly no you dont :( )

I think a magician live down here, but wasn’t game enough to follow it and find out. I think I prefer being able to pretend he does.

What magical Pathways have you found? and where do you think they might lead?

To finish off with here’s a poem I love but hadn’t heard in ages, but seems appropriate here

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth

Then took the other, just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that, the passing there

Had worn them really about the same

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way

I doubted if I should ever come back

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference

Robert Frost

One thought on “Living in the Land of Alice in Wonderland

  1. These pictures are awesome – the one where you ask if you become a hobbit if you pass through it reminded me of a little pathway at the ANU where, if you’re lucky and noone else is going for a walk, you can totally forget where you are, and pretend you’re chasing a white rabbit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.