Kelliefish13's Blog

Travel writing, Poems and Stories

Making stuff is fun. Penguin.

Leave a comment


Not having a TV and being a fidgety person means I have some evenings with way too much time on my hands so I started making stuff for family. Having wandered through Cath’s Kitchen and seen a book on sewing and crafts I thought I could do that, only better. So off I went to the cute little haberdashery shop (I love the word haberdashery and am using it as much as I can) call ‘darn it and stitch’ and came back with lots of felt and other sewing goodies.
My favourite purchase was thisLots of threads
Which although you can’t see it very well is mending thread pack, which is I think 25 different colours woven together so you can pull out the colour of choice easily and its in the perfect length for hand stitching, perfect for crafts where many colours are needed and much cheaper than buying lots of cotton reels.

Once home again I started by making a list of what I wanted to make for each person trying to have it personal for them. Next I drew a picture of what I wanted the finished object to look like, front and back and labelled colours. Having done that I looked at all the different parts and what colours they were and turned them into pattern pieces by drawing each bit individually then cutting out and checking size. Once I was happy I pinned all the pieces onto the felt.

making sure each piece was labelled with the person it was for name on it so I wouldn’t get confused later (I also used different colour pins for each)

Then it was time to cut and figure out how to put the layers together I started out with the penguin for my sister because it required simply layering to piece together. first pinning the piece into place so it didn’t move as I sewed. then using small neat stitches just inside the white circle. Keeping the back as neat as the front.

then adding the eyes, two white semi circles with a small dot of black all carefully stitched on using tiny stitches. I used the scraps for the eyes as they hardly require any material.

Then I added the beak, a yellow triangle sewn just along the top so it is like a flat. I used a bit of extra cotton to make a loop up so that it can be hung, theoretically from a Christmas tree.
Then I got the back piece, same as the front but without the stomach, eyes and beak added and stitched her name using back stitch, I find it easy to do without a guide by you could use tailors chalk to mark it out first, or in pen on the back (which I used when embroidering stars)

Next step sew front and back together making sure they thread for hanging is at the top.

Author: kelliefish13

I am a full time mum to my two children, I blog very sporadically about life and things that interest me.

Leave a Reply

