Kelliefish13's Blog

Travel writing, Poems and Stories

Fast times in Tahoe…. wait I mean Hamburg

Leave a comment

Sorry blog I have been neglecting you. Finally getting full weeks of consistent work which is fantastic for my bank balance but means fitting in everything in has become a little harder.
See look the sun!

But then again last week we took two days of work to go to Germany for 4 days to see a friend before she moves back to NZ (hopefully for good). The awesomeness of staying with a good friend and sitting on her bed in our PJ’s watching silly tv (Idol in German) eating lots of candy and chips. Something I haven’t done for a long time. I have some great friends here but not quite the same level of closeness that comes with certain friends.
We did other things too, like taking the ferry along the river and then walking along parts of it with the sun going down (very very pretty), and just happening to climb on the barriers and jump between them. It was the best sunlight I have had in a while though not quite the same when u can’t actually feel it on your skin because of all the layers and the cold wind.
We had a great night out in Irish bars (seems silly to go to Germany only to go to Irish bars but they were fun and played German music as well so it was all good, though I was having trouble at times working out which songs were being sung in which language) the second one was huge with multiple floors and gave us mini bottles of Waldmeister (Which apparently translates to forest Meister which is what we have been calling that flavour since she first brought that flavour gummy bears to NZ) liqueur as we went in, I kept the bottle. Was a fun night with lots of music that kept going all night (though we only made it to about 4am) it was nice not to have to change places because of closing times, especially since it was so cold. The first place we went to had fun music but let people smoke inside, I forgot how gross that is! I was quite pleased to leave there turns out I have become a lot less tolerant of second hand smoke since smoking in bars was banned in NZ years ago. Waking up feeling slightly hung over was made way worse by smoke filled hair.

4 days was definitely not long enough but I was glad we took the early flight back on Sunday so I could get an early night before work today. Must be time to plan the next trip!

Author: kelliefish13

I am a full time mum to my two children, I blog very sporadically about life and things that interest me.

Leave a Reply

