Kelliefish13's Blog

Travel writing, Poems and Stories

The Banging and Clashing of Poetry

Leave a comment

This week Poetry came banging and clashing its way back into my life, quite literally by a lovely class of year 2’s whose class assembly was all about poetry and to great effect they used musical instruments to accompany it. Lots of fun and from the smiles on their faces they enjoyed it.
Then this morning I was reading one of my friends posts about her favourite poems which asked what mine were. So I dutifully got my favourite book of poems out to search for the ones I love best.

My current favourite Poetry book

While reading through and listening to the children yesterday I remember the magic of poetry, the flow and tangle of the words tingling across your tongue, they way they are almost a song but at the same time a completely different kettle of fish. I forgot how poems could take the familiar, twist it and weave magic into so it is no longer the same thing and you can never look at it again the same way. I love how some poems are short, sharp and lots of fun to say. Others are deep and meaningful and can leave you wandering for days. I love how poems affect the way I think, leaving words flowing from my head in a semi rhythm and rhyme where is doesn’t matter the direction they go, or if they have been switched around its all part of the magic of the language. I love how the words twist and turn, sometimes flowing sometimes jumping, like a fast flowing stream over the pebbly shores.

Enough now of my rambles turns out I could go on for days. I have finally found a copy of a poem that I read in high school that is haunted me ever since.

Fifteen Million Plastic Bags

I was walking in a government warehouse
Where the daylight never goes.
I saw fifteen million plastic bags
Hanging in a thousand rows.

Five million bags were six feet long
Five million bags were five foot five
Five million were stamped with Mickey Mouse
And they came in a smaller size.

Were they for guns or uniforms
Or a kinky kind of party game?
Then I saw each bag had a number
And every bag bore a name.

And five million bags were six feet long
Five million were five foot five
Five million were stamped with Mickey Mouse
And they came in a smaller size

So I’ve taken my bag from the hanger
And I’ve pulled it over my head
And I’ll wait for the priest to zip it
So the radiation won’t spread

Now five million bags are six feet long
Five million bags were five foot five
Five million were stamped with Mickey Mouse
And they came in a smaller size.
Adrian Mitchell

What do you love about poetry, which poems do you love, which ones haunt you?

Author: kelliefish13

I am a full time mum to my two children, I blog very sporadically about life and things that interest me.

Leave a Reply

